Yantarny «Town of amber stone».
Until 1945 Yantarny was a part of East Prussia under the name Palmnicken. The official date of its establishment is 1654. Palmnicken’s population was mostly engaged in mining and processing of amber and fishing. On 7 June 1947 after the Great Patriotic War Palmnicken’s name was changed to Yantarny.
It is a unique place known all over the world as the largest on the Earth stocks of amber (about 90%) are situated there. Also there is one of a kind plant for industrial mining and processing of amber there. The museum complex “Amber Castle” is situated in Yantarny. It includes Museum of Russian Superstitions. The museum is located in an ancient castle of XIV century. It used to be a part of Palmnicken fortress, which served to guard the seaside and amber mines. The trade fair of amber, medical and cosmetic goods made on its basis, are always operating in the castle.
- Observation desk of the amber mine;
- «Amber Castle» museum;
- «Anna» amber mine
- «Bekker» park walk.
YantarnyDay of the week:
14:30 - 19:00 duration:
4 hours Cost: 990 rub. To order
Photos from an excursion: